top of page

Ironwoman Training

Five years ago I decided I wanted to participate in a triathlon before I turned 40. I took swim lessons, started running, and took my bike riding from spin classes to the great outdoors. Little did I know I'd get hooked on this crazy sport of swim, bike, and run. Although I enjoyed training on my own I thought it might be fun to give training with a group a "tri" (sorry, bad pun!). I joined the Trigirl/Triquest team. This amazing, crazy bunch has become my second family. The push and inspire me daily. The past two years I've gone on to compete in two tough and grueling half ironman races. Despite the challenges they presented, they are high up on my list of best days ever. This year I decided to join the full crazy train and sign up for a full ironman (Ironwoman) in Mont Tremblant Canada. Apparently it is beautiful and has mountains. Hmm. Training is in full swing with multiple hours each week and very long brick workouts on Saturdays. Some days are extremely difficult. This tribe of people helps inspire me and keep me going! Looking forward to the journey ahead.

Five years ago I thought it would be a fun and challenging thing to compete in my first sprint triathlon. Little did I know that I would get hooked to this crazy sport of swim, bike, and run. I went on to participate in several more sprints learning a bit more along the way. Although I enjoyed training on my own I thought I'd give training with a group a "tri" (sorry, bad pun!). I joined TriGirl/TriQuest - an amazing group of people who have become my second family. They encourage me, push me, believe in me, and help me believe in myself. The past two summers I've done two half ironmans competitions. They were both grueling and tough and some of the greatests days of my life! I decided to climb aboard the full crazy train this year and signed up for a full ironman (Ironwoman!) in Mont Tremblant Canada. Training is in full force right now. It means hours of training each week and sometimes many long hot hours on Saturdays. This past Saturday was a 6 hour day. It is incredibly tough and you find you sometimes dig down deep to put the needed miles in. This great group inspires me everytime.

SaveSave

Save

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page