top of page

Wayne Thiebaud


These were the biggest hit! We had so much FUN making these paper mache icecream cones in 3rd grade. Students in all the lower school art classes learned about artist Wayne Thiebaud. Each grade level did a different 2D or 3D project.

I had planned on making 2D mixed media cupcakes with my 2nd graders, but when they saw the icecream cones 3rd grade was making they were begging to make them too.. I told them they'd have to wait until next year (something to look forward too!), BUT I decided to let them make 3D cupcakes instead. I'm so glad I did. They had such a great time making these and they turned out super cute.

We set up an "icing" decorating station. Icing was made with a mixture of shaving cream, paint, and glue. We used fun foam for sprinkles and pompoms for cherries.. The children could not come to the icing station until they had created a pattern/design on their paper plate and cupcake liner.

I think they look good enough to eat! What about you?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page